Philadelphia Design Awards

Philadelphia is brimming with remarkably talented designers and artists that would rival those in any city in the world. In an effort to engage and strengthen the regional design community, AIGA Philadelphia invites all designers to submit their work to our biennial Philadelphia Design Awards competition, affectionately nicknamed PDA.

The Philadelphia Design Awards celebrate the best design created in the Philadelphia area over the past two years. We feature work from creative teams of all types and sizes in the tri-state area, giving designers the opportunity to present their work to a prestigious panel of internationally recognized judges—as well as have selected pieces displayed online, in print and in an exhibition.

2016 Philadelphia Design Awards 


  • Steve Frykholm
  • Su Matthews Hale
  • Cheryl Heller
  • Lana Rigsby
  • Brian Singer

2016 Winners:
Allemann Almquist & Jones
Chamber of Commerce for Greater Philadelphia
Colette Gaiter
David P.L. Jones
DiSanto Design
Donald Swain
Eileen Cubbage
The Franklin Institute
GD Loft
Gigi McGee
Go Welsh
Gold Collective
Headcase Design
Holohan Design
Ink and Mortar
J2 Design
Kathy Mueller
Kimberly Glyder
La Colombe
Mark Willie
Matt Hunsberger
Michael Norcross
Modern Good
Monna Morton
Perfect Communications
Philadelphia University
Philadelphia Zoo
Princeton Univeristy Press
Rachele Riley
SK Designworks
Steve DeCusatis Design
Warkulwiz Design Associates
WFGD Studio

2012 Philadelphia Design Awards 

Philadelphia Design Awards


  • Patrick Coyne
  • Mig Reyes
  • Debbie Millman
  • Karl Maier

2010 Philadelphia Design Awards 

2008 Philadelphia Design Awards 

Presented by Adobe

In an effort to engage and strengthen the regional design community, AIGA Philadelphia called all designers to “show some love” and submit their work to Philadelphia Design Awards presented by Adobe and affectionately nicknamed PDA.

We were very excited to see work from creative agencies of all sizes in the tri-state area, giving artists the opportunity to present their work to a prestigious panel of internationally recognized judges. The judging, was conducted by Sean Adams of Adams/Morioka, Rick Landesberg of Landesberg Design, Alice Twemlow of New York’s School of Visual Arts, Alice Chung of Omnivore and Scott Stowell of Open Design Studio.

Congratulations to the 2008 Winners were formally recognized on Friday, May 1, 2009 at the opening reception of the PDA exhibit on First Friday, running May 1 – 30, 2009 at AXD (Always by Design) Gallery in Philadelphia’s Old City.

Acme Design Group
Alana McCann
Allemann Almquist & Jones
Anna Ishii
Baseman Design Associates
Bliss & White
Brown Partners
Caspari McCormick
David Comberg Design
Design for Social Impact
EMdash Design
Go Welsh
Headcase Design
Holohan Design
Johnston Duffy
Kimberly Glyder Design
Kradel Design
Mad Maude Press
Mitzie Testani
Mutt Ink
Polite Design
Quirk Books/ Doogie Horner
Ron Cala
SK Designworks
Somewhat Awesome Design
Untuck Design Studio

Event image
Join us Friday, June 2nd for an encore opening reception!
Philadelphia · Friday, May 12, 2017 - Friday, June 30, 2017
Event image
An exhibition of works by the 2017 AIGA Fellow Award recipient Allan Espiritu of GDLOFT on view now through June 30th at the Center for Architecture + Design.
Philadelphia · Tuesday, May 16, 2017 - Friday, June 30, 2017
Event image
Pull up a seat and discover the origins of this low-tech, flexible medium while creating your own piece to share with the group. Open to zine newbies and practiced zineophiles alike!
Philadelphia · Saturday, July 15, 2017
Event image
Geared towards designers, developers, organizers and activists, the series is open to the community and will include panel discussions with community activists, tutorials on open source design tools and information design techniques, explorations of cryptography and cybersecurity, and more.
Philadelphia · Event from the community · Thursday, June 1, 2017 - Thursday, August 24, 2017
Event image
Hi-Res is coming to the 5th Annual Philadelphia Podcast Festival!
Philadelphia · Event from the community · Saturday, July 22, 2017

Flickr photo